Amather's "I've never done any work on cars before" '07 NBP Progress Thread!

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2015, 05:00 PM
Advanced

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Amather's "I've never done any work on cars before" '07 NBP Progress Thread!

Hello, and welcome...

to my build thread.

As stated in the title, I've never done any car-related work in my life. Never changed oil. Never modded, installed, painted, insulated, unscrewed, unbolted, forced, jimmied, shimmied, or bimmied anything.

My first car was a 2001 Subaru Outback that never needed maintenance.

My previous car was a 1989 Dodge Lancer that I intentionally never worked on.

And then... the TL.

This glorious hunk of machinery from 2007 entered my life a month ago. In this thread, I'll chronicle the amateur, bootleg, cut-corner things I do to this car in order to try and call myself a "modder". I think it will end up looking pretty good. All of my projects will be undertaken with research here on acurazine.

Now for a few follow up posts with the mods that I've completed already. Stay tuned.
The following users liked this post:
TacoBello (04-29-2015)
Old 04-29-2015, 05:11 PM
Advanced

Now, after I purchased the TL, I did a little bit of homework here on the forums. Mainly, I was still reeling from the initial purchase (I paid 10,700 for the car with 92,000 miles, great deal where I'm at but still a lot), but I still wanted to throw some cheap mods in to claim my territory, so to speak.

The general feeling seemed to be Maintenance > Mods. PSHAW! I exclaimed. I proposed a new balance.
Maintenance = Cheap Aesthetic Mods > Big Mods. These mental gymnastics have helped me thoroughly to get through the hard times or something.

In any case, I figured the first place to start was to do some minor fixes and such to the aspects of the car that allowed me to lower the price when I bought it. Here's a list of its 'emotional baggage'

- Power Steering Pump was shot
- "Tighten Gas Cap" light constant
- Chip in Windshield