Noob questions on exhausts. Need a quick Exhaust 101 lesson.

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2011, 06:55 PM
Advanced

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Noob questions on exhausts. Need a quick Exhaust 101 lesson.

Hi fellow TL owners.

I'm new to the whole modding scene, and I've done some research, but it all is pretty useless when there are technical info and terms that people assume everyone else knows, when in fact I know almost nothing. So can anyone answer some noob questions about exhausts please?

I realized a lot of people when they first start modding the car the first thing they do is change the exhaust, but a lot of things puzzle me, for instance...

1. What are the different segments of the exhaust pipe that people mod? I always see terms like j-pipe, precat, cat delete, etcetc, but what/where are these? Is it possible to remove one, add one, remove all of them or any combination of that?

2. XLR8, ATLP, RV6 (is this a brand or an item?), and REM are a bunch of what I assume to be exhaust manufacturers/retailers, and are names correct? So in relation to question 1, I see a lot of people mixing and matching brands together to create a new, whole exhaust system. If I'm wrong (I'm pretty sure I am wrong somewhere), please correct me.

3. Cold air intake, muffler, resonator, and other stuff like that. Apart from the obvious things (like I believe out of common sense muffler muffles the exhaust note ), what are these things, what do they do, and what relation do they have with each other?

4. What combination of setup is very popular here? Since I know almost nothing about creating an exhaust pipe system, I believe I'll just jump on the bandwagon and follow the most popular option as a trial-and-error kind of thing and as a learning experience.

I understand that these questions are very narrow, and I would really appreciate it if someone with knowledge of these things could give me a quick run-down of them. Everyone has to start somewhere, yeah?

Thanks again!