3rd Gen Acura TL Exhaust Mods

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2017, 07:55 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3rd Gen Acura TL Exhaust Mods

Hey everyone, it's my first time posting on the forums here and I'm a bit of a car noob so please take it easy on me lol. I'm going to be buying a 3rd gen tl sometime this summer and I want to put some stuff on it. The first thing would probably be an exhaust system. I want to get a catback and a J pipe. I understand what I catback does as the name pretty much explains itself. I'm confused about the J pipe though. Does it replace the cat? Also how many cats are on the tl? I am also from New Jersey and I'm not sure what's legal here in terms of the J pipe. I don't really mind if it's illegal, is just like to know so I'm not caught with me pants down. Also if any of you have the Tsudo J pipe and catback setup please give me your thoughts! Other than that I look forward to my TL ownership!
Old 05-07-2017, 08:31 PM
Latent car nut

Received 2,005 Likes on 1,407 Posts
My thoughts are if it is illegal then your car will be polluting more than it should. If that's your goal, don't count on much help, the rest of us like breathing air which is as clean as possible.
Old 05-07-2017, 08:34 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by horseshoez
My thoughts are if it is illegal then your car will be polluting more than it should. If that's your goal, don't count on much help, the rest of us like breathing air which is as clean as possible.

I get where your coming from. I'm not out to do any illegal modifications. I'm just saying that if the J pipe is illegal in New Jersey, I'll still put it on but I'd like to know. The J pipe is the only "illegal" thing I'd do, I'm all for breathing clean air too. NJ just tends to be very very strict with car modifications.
Old 05-07-2017, 09:55 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 930 Likes on 612 Posts