Navtool HDMI 3.0 Install on TL Type-S

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2017, 04:42 PM
Cruisin'

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Navtool HDMI 3.0 Install on TL Type-S

I recently finally finished my Navtool Install for mobile video in my TLS. Basically I chose the Navtool route with HDMI Smartphone-Mirroring using an Android Mini-PC instead of a tablet. I then Wi-Fi Tether to my HTC for internet access for all the apps on the Mini-PC. I also purchased a Rii bluethooth touchpad to control the Mini-PC with, since I know of no way to use the factory touchscreen to transfer inputs. I have a WD MyCloud on my home network where I have hundreds of movies and TV Shows, so this install will allow me to stream that video to the Navigation Screen.

I would like to start this write-up off by giving thanks to Acurazine and other notable members I studied to make this happen:

Thanks to: DeathtoToasters, jrocka312, supadavesNHBP, RxWorld, and writeups consolidated by datmrman

Here are the major components I used for this install, but there's also a bunch of odds and ends I left out like crimpers, meters, etc that are vital to a safe and clean install.
Major Items Used:Other Items to consider I did not use:
  • Micro SD CARD (Optional for Movie/Audio Local Storage)
  • SPDIF Audio Y Adapter (Smartphone and Navtool to Aux vice just one or the other)
Quick shot of the major items used

Here is a quick look at how the major items will connect. I forgot the SPDIF cable in the picture, but it just goes from Navtool ran all the way to the inside at Aux port under armrest. The red extension is the Wi-Fi antenna.

The updated Red LED Momentary switch was puzzling to me to find how to wire it. So I'm posting it here to help somebody else out too. I chose to have my LED always on, since it only comes on with the Accessory anyway.

***Disconnect Negative Terminal on Battery***

I began breakdown by opening up the armrest container, and lifting the rubber cutout to reveal two screws to be removed.