Hooking up an external amp

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2013, 03:44 PM
KCCO

Received 192 Likes on 173 Posts
Hooking up an external amp

Hey Folks,
I have a Pioneer 35wX4 amp just lying around and was thinking of hooking it up to my TL. It's nothing outrageous, but it's a nice little amp. Would the stock speakers including the subwoofer benefit from getting a little more wattage?

I was thinking of hooking the amp up to the sub mono, or possible running two channels to the sub and two channels to the front door speakers.

Can you foresee any problems with that? I've been toying with the idea of getting a shallow mount 8" sub to replace the stock one as well. Any input is welcome.
Old 07-03-2013, 08:27 PM
Racer

Received 36 Likes on 31 Posts
i'm no pro, meaning i only do sound installs on my own cars
but while 35w may work for speakers it's not much more than stock, and 70w is very low for a sub

shallow 8" will sound almost the same as stock, or at least the shallow that can run on 70w

so, IMO hooking up a $100 amp is not worth the trouble
Old 07-03-2013, 09:30 PM
KCCO

At 2 ohms it's actually 50w X 4. The stock speakers are only getting like 15w or something like that from the stock amp, aren't they? And the stock sub is only getting 40w from the stock amp. Would it hurt the speakers to up the wattage to 50w per channel?

If I ran the external amp mono to the subwoofer, it could be getting about 150w or so RMS. I wonder if it would handle that?
Old 07-04-2013, 01:05 AM
Suzuka Master

Received 594 Likes on 457 Posts
just about anything is better than the stock amp, but i wouldnt go to the trouble to hook that up correctly.
Old 07-04-2013, 10:37 AM
Racer

Originally Posted by MarcoNorthPolo
At 2 ohms it's actually 50w X 4. The stock speakers are only getting like 15w or something like that from the stock amp, aren't they? And the stock sub is only getting 40w from the stock amp. Would it hurt the speakers to up the wattage to 50w per channel?