Drop-In Stock Subwoofer Replacement For Improved Bass

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2014, 09:40 AM
Racer

Received 234 Likes on 82 Posts
Drop-In Stock Subwoofer Replacement For Improved Bass

As I am sure you all know by now the stock audio system is a little weak sause. I've read multiple threads about this, but none had a very clear answer. I'm looking to replace the stock subwoofer with a drop in (no cutting up rear deck) replacement to increase the bass. So far it sounds like I will need 2 things; the subwoofer (no shit) and the wire harness adaptor. I am an audio NOOB so please don't bash me if I don't know some things and ask silly questions. HERE is a sub that another memeber dropped in. It's an 8" Pioneer shallow mount subwoofer.

Also, will it work better than my factory sub even though they are both using the same wattage? I read on the 3G facebook page that someone knew how to modify the stock amp to improve it's overall output to 750watts ( i found hard to believe ). Any tips for helping out the bass/improving sound in the TL would be greatly appreciated
Old 06-25-2014, 10:13 PM
KCCO

Received 192 Likes on 173 Posts
That Pioneer sub has a 4ohm impedance. It is a free air sub though, so it does have that going for it. It's also 120w nominal, whereas the stock sub I believe is 45w, so I don't know how well the stock amp would push it. It might be ok.

To be honest, I looked at that Pioneer sub when I was in the market for a new one. I ended up going with a Basslink and I couldn't be happier. Fits right behind the drivers side wheelwell and doesn't take up much room.
Old 06-26-2014, 08:19 AM
My first ricer

Received 256 Likes on 211 Posts
You'd be way better off putting a box in the trunk and removing the factory sub, or infinite baffle which a lot of people like on here which is more low key looking than a box. Even if you put in a better 8" sub it's still an 8" in free air that is prone to rattling.
Old 07-09-2014, 10:46 AM
Racer