Audio Advice Needed

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2016, 12:07 AM
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Audio Advice Needed

First off let me start off by saying I'm not very experienced in terms of perfecting audio. So if my write up sounds crappy don't hold it against me. So I'm interested in making my system sound top notch without spending a ton of money, I'd say as is right now it sounds decent just not the best because of the very limited tuning the base EQ offers. My current set up as is-
Fronts- Polk Audio DB5251-components, 100w rms/250w peak
Rears- Polk Audio DB65- 165w rms
Center channel(which I think just processes voice commands not audio)- Kicker Dsc35 80w peak
Subs in trunk- JL 12WOv3's 300w rms (both subs powered by a JL JX500/1D 500w amp)

My problem that stands currently is my base sounds decent but my highs and mids sound average at best and I believe it's either 1, I didn't replace the stock amp and am using that to power my new setup so not providing enough power to the new speakers or possibly 2, just using the stock headunit EQ and the very limited tuning on the amp could be hindering my audio output. The amp offers only filter freq. and bass boost. So I'm very curious at what options may help produce a better sound, I've considered either purchasing an aftermarket 7-band EQ to help with tuning, or getting a new 4 channel amp to feed the front/rear deck speakers and losing center/sub channel, like I said my audio knowledge is limited I've tried researching throughout other threads on how to make the sound better but was unable to find something to pinpoint my problem, wether it be new amp/signal processors wichever I just don't know the best route to take while working with a budget. If anyone could give me any insight on achieving a better sound output it would be very very appreciated please let me know any solutions I hope I'm not asking to much.
Old 04-12-2016, 10:43 PM
Advanced

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Moistarm,