Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

wreck repair advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2006, 11:08 AM
07 NBP TL-S

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
wreck repair advice

Last week I was on my way home from the airport and another driver failed to yield the right-of-way at a signal protected intersection. I hit the other vehicle at about 45 mph broadside on the passenger-side. My TL is less than 2 months old and it's messed up pretty bad. So far the insurance is saying that it's repairable but there is greater than $15,000 in damage. I'm concerned that the vehicle will have chronic problems in the future and never be the same again.

I'm not sure what was damaged mechanically; but cosmetically the front bumper, hood, front quarter panels, and grill were trashed. Both airbags deployed as well. I'll try to attach pictures but I'm new at this.

I opened the trunk to get my wifes luggage out; it didn't open because of the wreck.

If anyone has any advice I'd greatly appreciate it.
Old 09-29-2006, 11:18 AM
Racer

Well, $15k will not take it over the limit for the insurance to total it so it will be fixed. The entire front end's sheet metal will be replaced. If you take it to a reputable body shop, they will want to re-paint the entire car to make sure it matches. You absolutely have serious frame damage. The frame is bent inward (downward) in the front and since you said the trunk will not open, the frame (unibody) is also twisted from the lateral pull of the other vehicle during impact.
A really good body shop can get your car back to a near factory condition but you will have creaks/rattles that will be more pronounced (this car without accidents has rattles anyway). Also, since both air bags deployed, they will have to replace the dash as well.