Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

used 2004

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2008, 05:23 PM
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
used 2004

Hi, newbie here. am about to join the fold. Have a couple of o4's with 45k, 6spds. Pls advise is an 04 ok as it was 1st of this generation and what should I look out for. Will be driving them soon. Was prepared to get a clearance priced 08 but saw 2 04's become available. Should I buy new or are 04's ok if purcahsed in low 20's??

Thanks in advance!

Joe
Old 05-26-2008, 07:06 PM
Instructor

As consumer reports told me, in 04's the paint/trim reliability was a lot worse than the '05's onward. Also the sound system was changed after the '04's to be more balanced between front and rear speakers and sounds noticeably better in '05's and onward. Also in the '04 there are no sensors in the front-passenger seat which alert the driver when an occupant is out of a safe position for the side airbag, as this was added in '05. These are not all huge deals, but expect more paint/trim problems and if you care about sound quality I'd get '05 or onward.
Old 05-26-2008, 07:59 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 2,016 Likes on 1,435 Posts
Originally Posted by chillout24
As consumer reports told me, in 04's the paint/trim reliability was a lot worse than the '05's onward. Also the sound system was changed after the '04's to be more balanced between front and rear speakers and sounds noticeably better in '05's and onward. Also in the '04 there are no sensors in the front-passenger seat which alert the driver when an occupant is out of a safe position for the side airbag, as this was added in '05. These are not all huge deals, but expect more paint/trim problems and if you care about sound quality I'd get '05 or onward.