Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Transmission drain

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2016, 08:00 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Transmission drain

I bought an 08 TL with 100,809. I have the service records from the previous Owner from 60,000-95,000. From that time only one transmission flush was done at the Acura dealer at 80,382. My question is, I don't know how frequent the prior owner did trans drain, but is it safe for me to do another one at 100,809 ? If that was his only trans drain can another drain cause potential damage? Sorry for the noob question I'm new to this Acura scene and found out how important these trans drains are.
Old 12-21-2016, 08:01 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 8,713 Likes on 6,720 Posts
Do it
Old 12-21-2016, 08:10 PM
Cruisin'

Ok, should I use Honda Z1 or redline?
Old 12-21-2016, 08:19 PM
LIST/RAMEN/WING MAHSTA 짱

Received 207 Likes on 158 Posts
Redline/Amsoil are superior products.
Old 12-21-2016, 08:22 PM
Cruisin'

Copy..Will be doing my 3x3 soon with Redline. Thank you guys
Old 12-21-2016, 08:38 PM
Instructor

Received 42 Likes on 36 Posts
Be aware there's the Redline Type F and Redline D4 fluids, I would stick with the D4 ATF as the Type F fluid has a lack of friction modifiers which could lead to problems down the road. Does your AT exhibit any irregular symptoms?
Old 12-21-2016, 08:55 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 8,713 Likes on 6,720 Posts
ATF-DW1 replaced atf-z1.

I'd just use the regular OEM stuff
Old 12-21-2016, 11:01 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 1,692 Likes on 1,307 Posts
I would use the factory DW1 ATF.
Old 12-22-2016, 04:03 AM
Instructor