Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torn between low mile 06-08 TL and new reliable car

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2009, 10:13 AM
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Torn between low mile 06-08 TL and new reliable car

HI, I am currently looking at used 06-08 TL and the best I could find with low mile is around $19k. I have not yet tried to talk them down on price or anything, but I don't think there's a lot of wiggle room on it as that's the lowest price I could find on the net right now.

My question is, if I get a used Acura TL, per se, 06 with 36k miles, the warranty might run out before I even reach 50k thousand. With that in mind, would you guys recommend buying a used TL without any extended warranty from acura? I am aware that honda/acura generally make reliable cars, but it is what it is and they will need repairs time to time. I was wondering what kind of maintenance and how expensive they can be to maintain.

I am still a student and am not in a position to fork over a grand every time something goes worng so I was torn between used acura TL, which I love, and other cheap low-maintenance reliable cars that I can get for 20k or a little less.

(By low maintenance cheap cars, I am referring to civic sedan, mazda 3?, etc, etc that doesn't require meticulous maintenance)

Any thought would be appreciated.

Last edited by asitmc; 11-25-2009 at 10:15 AM.
Old 11-25-2009, 10:21 AM
Man of God.....

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cool

There were some nice improvements between those years. I would forget the extended warranty, And get the 08. No question. Of course the TL must be maintained to a "T"....
Old 11-25-2009, 02:48 PM
MR1
05/5AT/Navi/ABP/Quartz

Received 53 Likes on 50 Posts
Sounds like a TL would be a stretch right now. I think I would buy something less expensive to start with. The two cars you mentioned would be a great place to start.
Old 11-25-2009, 04:12 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 832 Likes on 679 Posts