Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thinking of buying an Acura TL for my sons

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2018, 02:22 PM
2nd Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thinking of buying an Acura TL for my sons

I'm new to Acuras; I was big into Audi's and have since moved onto Merc's (German Car Fan). Regardless, I'm thinking of buying a 2005 TL from a private seller for my son (first car); should I have my head checked by a professional or is this a sound choice? Since you only have a first car, once, it mind as well be pretty cool. Luckily, he drives like a grandma, but, does this car have too much power for a 17yo? From everything that I've read, this is a pretty safe car and it is moderately reliable. The car is a 2005 TL with 141k miles, the transmission was replaced 2 months ago and comes with a 2 year warranty. I'm verifying/checking if the timing belt/water pump was replaced; however, is there anything special beyond these items that I should be concerned about? If the timing belt/water pump was not replaced, approximately, how much will it cost?

Unfortunately, my son have zero ability when it comes to turning wrenches and I'll end up doing any/all DIY repairs; which is fine because I like working on cars.
Old 01-25-2018, 02:25 PM

Received 16,265 Likes on 11,974 Posts
pretty safe and awesome first car!! (it can be pretty quick at freeway speeds, but sounds like your boy is level headed)
timing belt service can range anywhere from $400-1200..depending on who you take it to.
the Acura dealers will be on the high end of that price...while Honda dealers can do it for less..
the cheapest will be either Doing it yourself or taking it to an indie mechanic
Old 01-25-2018, 02:34 PM
2nd Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Inde shop for me... I usually, sway away from the stealerships, unless it's paramount,
The following users liked this post:
justnspace (01-25-2018)
Old 01-25-2018, 02:37 PM

Received 16,265 Likes on 11,974 Posts