Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Strange smell

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2004, 08:15 AM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Strange smell

I am planning to take the car to the dealer but I was wondering if you guys had any ideas what is going on.

I noticed about a week ago a strange burnt grease/metallic (?) smell when I stopped the car. I do not know how to describe smell, but it was somewhat similar to a clutch or break smell but not the same; I think I would recognize these. I was trying to figure out from where this was coming, even opened up the hood, but no luck. It seems to be coming from the bottom of the car, perhaps the tires? Recently, I had my tires changed (to Falkens ZIEX 512). Could it be the tires or something that is connected to changing them??

Other than the smell, I did not notice any other changes in driving characteristics of the car.

Here is what I think it is not:

1. Gas. I have been buying from the same gas station for over 6 months and I never leave too little gas in the tank before refill.

2. If it is the clutch, it is not because of my driving (22 years of driving stick, all cars had a stick never had a single problem with transmission or clutch).

3. No, my parking break is not engaged

I bought the car in May 2004 and never had any trace of this smell before. It started after the tires were changed, so this is a small hint, but I just can't think of why tires would produce this smell. One more thing - the car needs to be driven at least 2-3 miles to get the smell. If I move the car for a short distance from a cold start (e.g., less than a mile), the smell is not there or very faint (which is another indication that it is not the gas).

Any ideas or help is greatly appreciated!
Old 12-08-2004, 08:18 AM
On the way!

Wow - that could be just about anything (brakes - wheel bearings - clutch). I'd get it to the dealer fast. You don't want a fire on your hands.
Old 12-08-2004, 08:22 AM
Racer