Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A-spec questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2004, 01:18 AM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A-spec questions

Curry Acura (they sell A-spec kit in eBay for $3800) claims that the 18" wheels weight 13 lbs each. Can anyone confirm this. I'm no expert on wheels but I think this is unheard of, virtually all 17"/18" wheels (affordable ones) I've seen are in the 17 - 24 lbs range.

Also, anyone know if this A-spec wheel/Yokohama tire is same as the "optional " 18" wheel/Hi-perf tire from dealer?
A-spec spring same as Comptech "Sport Spring"?
If not, what are the differences? Which is better?
Appreciate any replies. Thanks.
Old 02-27-2004, 09:43 AM
8th Gear

I use to be in the wheel business and there is no way that those wheels weigh 13 lbs. I just weighed a wheel with a 235/40/18 Yokohama and it weighed 48lbs. Then I weighed a tire and it was 24lbs. Do the math. I would say approx. 24lbs.

The 18" wheel and tire package is the same offered by the dealer that is in the A spec.

The a A spec package includes springs and shocks. Comptech is just springs. I heard that the spring being used on the Aspec is not the same as the comptech spring. I have not done a side by side track comparison with the two, but everyday driving I feel that the Comptech springs are just as good and has a little better ride quality. I have driven both. The Acura tech who installed my springs has driven the A spec cars and my car with the comptech springs, says he likes mine better. He says that mine has a better ride and handles better.

I have the body kit, the Acura 18's and different tires than the dealer is installing. I have Bridgestone S03's. I love the way it rides and handles.
Old 02-27-2004, 07:58 PM
Instructor

Originally posted by imareck