Sponsored by:

SAE new horsepower rating system 3G Garage #A083

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2006, 01:57 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
SAE new horsepower rating system 3G Garage #A083

SAE new horsepower rating system
This has been discussed many times by many people already, but I want to clear up all the issues with this new standard and concerns with the power “decline” of your automobiles.
I worked as a mechanic for some time and currently studying to become a mechanical engineer.
Many people think that horsepower is horsepower, and in a way it is. It’s the measurement of power, which we took more conveniently to measure the potency of the gasoline engines in automobiles instead of Watts. There are different measurements of horsepower. There is an American horsepower (derived by using English units, such as Pound (lb), Feet (ft) and Slugs) and there is metric horsepower (derived by using metric units of the SI system: Newtons (N), meters (m) and kilograms (kg). One metric horsepower PS (PferdeStärke in German) equals to 0.9862 of American horses (hp) or 1 hp equals to 1.0139 PS.

There are different organizations that standardize the horsepower measurements:
DIN (Deuchland Istitute) – German Institute of standards
ECE – European Commission of Economy of EU
ISO – International Standard Organization
JIS – Japanese Institute of Standardization
SAE – Society of Automobile Engineers, USA
Standard ISO 1585 tries to bring all of those standards together, but the difference up to 10 percent still exists.
Power measured by DIN is 1-3 % smaller if recalculated to ECE or ISO. This explains BMW M3’s 333 PS and 325 HP, 2.5 percent difference.