Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need advice time for transmission fluid change

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2012, 10:50 PM
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Need advice time for transmission fluid change

My 07 transmission service is due soon I have about 119 000KM... I called my dealer and they said its going to be 91$.. I asked the guy is it extra to take change the oil in the tourque converter he said yeah... and he had to look it up because he said no one usuallly asks for that :: ..So to do a "full transmission oil change" it going to be 231$... anyway... I am a noob so is what the dealer going to do for 231$ going to be the same as a 3x3? I assume the 3x3 is to flush out all of the oil in the nooks and crannies. Id prefer to go to the dealer instead of mr.Loob because i want to be sure the new Honda transmission oil is used.

My transmission is running really well except it shifts a little hard sometimes when I am close to redlining 3rd gear. I drive in SS mode 75% of the time..

What about these pressure switches I hear about... I see allot of scattered threads but noting concrete about symptoms of a bad pressure switch, or a bad transmission.
Old 08-20-2012, 11:20 PM
2007 Type S WDP 5AT

Received 171 Likes on 64 Posts
You just need to do a 1x3. for the 91$. id change the pressure switches just for preventative maintenence. I have an 07 type s and thats exactly what i have done
Old 08-21-2012, 06:54 AM
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I have a 2008 TL and my switches needed replacement as the shifting was getting worst. New switches solved that. If you want to stay with Honda fluid you should install an external filter at least.
Since you have your ATF changed for you, you do not get to see how messy it comes out.
Old 08-21-2012, 10:46 AM
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by wojo1988