Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My new car adventure

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2005, 08:32 AM
9th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up My new car adventure

I finally decided that it was time to buy a new car at the end of 2004.
I've been driving My Honda CRX SI for 17 years. I bought it new in 1988.
It has 208,000 miles on it and still runs fine. I have since grown a family
so I needed something with four doors.

I looked at three cars, the BMW330, Inifiniti G35 and the Acura TL. I was leaning
more towards the G35 from the start. So one Saturday, I went to the dealer
to take a test drive. I test drove the 2004 Sedan 6-speed. I wasn't that
impressed with the car. I didn't think the interior looked all that nice. The
shifting wasn't as smooth as my expectations and the ride was a little harsher
than expected. I told the sales guy if I was going to buy one, I'd wait for the
2005 model with 298Hp. I then left the Infiniti dealer for the BMW dealer.

The BMW sales guy wasn't agressive like the Inifiniti guy. However there wasn't
a 330 on the lot. And he said the price would be around $40k. So he had me test drive the 325i. I loved the way the 325 drove. But it didn't have much power. I was now leaning towards the BMW. I've always heard how great they drive and I could tell. Unfortunatly, my friends who have BMWs talk about the cost of maintenance and how often they've been in the shop so I wasn't convinced that was the car for me, especially after driving the same car for 17 years that has had NO problems.

So finally I drop by the Acura dealer, the sales guy is very laidback and lets me
test drive a 6-Spd TL. I was very impressed the way it shifted. It seemed to have
descent power too. The interior was so much nicer than the G35. Having been a Honda owner for most of my life I decided to continue to be loyal and go with the TL. I had to order the car NPB/Ebony/6-spd/Nav. It took a month to come in.