Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Major Known Issues with '04 - '06 TL's?

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2008, 01:54 PM
10th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Major Known Issues with '04 - '06 TL's?

Hi all. I'm a newbie and have found a lot of great info on this site - thanks for all of that! I'm trying to decide between buying a TL and a Camry...I know, apples and oranges comparison. I have 2 small kids, so it's a what I'd like vs. what's most practical debate. Anyway, my question is this. What are the major known issues with the '04 - '06 TL's and what remedys has Acura stepped up to covering/extending warranties? Believe I read the transmission got the same 7Y / 100K extension as Honda, which I'm going through at the moment on the wife's '00 Odyssey - just made the warranty by a few weeks, thank goodness! In my Honda research, see that the '02 - '06's fell into the odometer class action settlement (www.odosettlementinfo.com, for those interested). Is there any other biggies I should be aware of? Tried searching the TSB's in this forum, but didn't see anything. Thanks!
Old 02-11-2008, 02:25 PM
Turd Polisher

Received 3,017 Likes on 1,515 Posts
Next time, post this in the general subforum of the 3G TL and / or Problems & Fixes .

Welcome to the board!

The transmission issue of the 3G has been GREATLY reduced since the 2G. Automatic transmission failure is pretty rare and the Manual has the infamous 3rd gear problem, which is easily fixed by the GM Synro fluid.

The only thing I can think of that makes the TL impractical is it's inability to fold down the rear seats. Everything else, this car is safe, it has class, and it has great aesthetics.

I own a 2004 Acura TL and it hasn't given me one mechanical issue. The odometer now reads 70,153 ...
Old 02-11-2008, 02:53 PM
AZ Community Team

Received 7,771 Likes on 4,342 Posts
I can't think of a single MAJOR issue.

A few tranny's, esp in the '04, but nothing like the 2nd gen.