info about springs because im very stupid

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2004 | 11:01 AM
The stickiest of the icky

info about springs because im very stupid

hey guys newbie here...im lookin for info on installing springs. first- what kinds do you guys know of that are available for the 2k4 TL? i know comptech but i have seen other ones mentioned and would like to know which ones you think are the best. Also, what is "camber" (i assume it has something to do with the tires and the body of the car) and what is a "camber kit?" whats the deal with the camber when getting springs installed, is that something that you have to do or just for looks or sumthing, i really have no idea. also what do they realign when they do a realignment ? i have read in other threads that it is best to wait 2 weeks after getting new springs to realign...

anyway, thanks a lot in advance
Old 01-24-2004 | 12:32 PM
What's a TL?

I am definately no expert with this stuff, but I will take a stab at answering some of the questions since no one else has...

-Springs- I just bought comptechs for my car after doing a fair amount of research. Apparently Eibach has springs that will work, but I was unable to find H&Rs or Tiens that are ready for 04 TLs. I ordered the Comptech because they have a ride that is comparable to stock, and the drop is subtle rather than too extreme. Comptech is more or less what AMG is to Benz. Acura and Comptech are not as intertwined as AMG and Benz, but Comptech is a specialty manufacturer producing items for Honda/Acuras only. They have a lot of good experience with Acuras, and are one of the few companies whose products are often carried at dealerships.