Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DIY: My Clearing of Tails Voyage

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2010, 04:33 AM
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
DIY: My Clearing of Tails Voyage

First off, I would like to thank this website and all it's fine members for giving me the motivation, knowledge, and courage to start modding my ride and sucking my bank account dry....Also.....FYI..... This mod was a pain in my MF'n ass.

Disclaimer: Do this mod at your own risk. Please don't blame me if you try this mod and screw up. I am not a pro. Just a guy on his first try. Thank you.

So, what you will need, or at least what I used was...Black silicone, Transparent glass paint & brush, Soft cloth, epoxy, masking tape, Dremel with reinforced cutting blade, pliers, Plastx, Air, alcohol, and alcohol in beer form. Oh yea, can't forget 04-05 base tails and TL-S tails. I used Depot's for the TL-s.

To start, I painted my blinker bulbs red because my red led's are still in route. I used transparent glass paint which is fine for bulbs up to 40watts or 350 degrees.

Before cutting, I taped of any areas where slag (melted plastic from cutting) could get into the housing. The slag will create scratches on the bezel. It doesn't really matter on the base tails but would recommend this when starting on the TL-S tails.

I would recommend practicing cutting on the base lights first since you won't be using these except for the clear diffusers. kind of a sloppy cut here cuz I really didn't care, but take your time when cutting open the tl-s tails and it will reduce slag and have closer gaps to close when you epoxy and silicone. But these pics show you where you need to cut.

When cutting the TL's tails, be careful on this corner. It's very easy to cut through the bezel. That's why you practice on the base first and you should have it down by the time it counts.

Before you can start pulling apart, take out these two screws.