AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community

AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community (https://acurazine.com/forums/)
-   3G TL (2004-2008) (https://acurazine.com/forums/3g-tl-2004-2008-93/)
-   -   Best Synthetic oil to use? (https://acurazine.com/forums/3g-tl-2004-2008-93/best-synthetic-oil-use-746439/)

Thomasv 09-30-2009 05:46 PM

Best Synthetic oil to use?

ok so I just did my first oil changehttp://images.intellitxt.com/ast/adTypes/2.gif in my 05 tl 6mt...I went with SAE Castrol Syntec 5w20 and a fram oil filterhttp://images.intellitxt.com/ast/adTypes/2.gif...my car has 67k miles and its approaching winter...I wanted to know what you guys think is best. Ive seen the deep purple a few times and this 0w30 referenced a few times too...i dont tend to drive my car hard but I do drive it alot since im a realtor. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

georgegiorgio 09-30-2009 06:01 PM

well, good choice for oil... I've been running Castrol Syntec 5W20 since 23,000 miles... and lasted around 7,000 miles until I went all the way till 0% Oil Life on my MID...

But, get a better oil filter....

T0L8 09-30-2009 06:30 PM

I use Honda oil filter with either Mobil 1 or Castrol Syntec. Most people say Fram filters are not good. I can't tell how long my oil last as I just go by the service minder notification.

TheChamp531 09-30-2009 06:44 PM

Not another one of these threads...

Is it me or are there a lot of new members lately (within the past couple of months or so)?

The best motor oils are Redline, Mobil 1 Extended Performance, or Royal Purple. Make sure you get the right filter. I usually get the Mobil 1 Extended Performance filter. Even though Acura says we use 5W-20 weight (mainly for MPG purposes), 5W-30 will be slightly and better in the long run with very minimal change in MPG's.

BigJack75 09-30-2009 06:48 PM

Originally Posted by TheChamp531 (Post 11361580)

Is it me or are there a lot of new members lately (within the past couple of months or so)?