Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice Needed

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2022, 02:27 PM
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice Needed

Hello all I’m new to the TL life and I purchased a fixer upper for cheap a 2007 Acura TL type S automatic and I took it to get checked and got a couple issues I need advice on, the car has mods on it such as a

cold air intake brand unknown
jv6 high flow cat
jc6 j pipe
and a j37 manifold and throttle body
no tune so will I need to get it tune? If so any etune or tuner in the Nc/Sc area is this a must right now?

i also have the below issue I was told to replace ball joints, motor mounts and sway bar bushing, as well as brake flush and transmission flush , also was told there’s a small leak on rack and pinion and transmission cooler line? Sorry for the question overload!

I attached pictures. I don’t want to cheap out but I am on a budget so what should I prioritize and will some of these issue be done myself im not super mechanically inclined but I can YouTube videos and follow steps lol. Also do I need to stick to OEM or can I buy some stuff off RockAuto?

thank you in advance!

Codes on car

Transmission fluid idk when it was changed if ever

Brake fluid

Ball joints I think those upper control arms are aftermarket not sure

Bushings

Code

Bushing

Recommended mounts

Bushings

Transmission cooler line

Rack and pinion

Old 04-07-2022, 06:31 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 1,692 Likes on 1,307 Posts
If you able to do most of the work yourself, even OEM part will cost you a good chunk of $$$. OEM steering rack is about $950 just the rack no inner/outer tire rod included, the leak is pretty common for a high mileage neglected maint TL. Rear sway bar bushing are pretty easy to replace and the bushing are cheap.

Things that make me cringe most is the transmission fluid color. They suppose to be dark pink when new (similar to cranberry juice) and get darker as they age (kinda like used motor oil).