Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6MT Shifting from 1st to 2nd Advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2004, 07:44 AM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 6MT Shifting from 1st to 2nd Advice

I have had the car for a week now. I find the shifting from first to second very tricky.

I had been driving a 5 sp Hondas for 16 years and I drove both the 2004 Accord and TSX and found their clutches much easier to drive smoothly.

We went with the TL for obvious reasons, now I want to work on getting the 1-2 shift smooth. I have been trying slow clutch releases, but still not smooth.

My best approach so far is a partial press of the clutch.

I would appreciate any coaching from those who feel they have mastered the 1-2 shift smoothly.

Thanks in advance.
Old 02-24-2004, 07:50 AM
Newbie for Life

Received 11 Likes on 3 Posts
I think the main thing giving everyone problems with shifting the 6MT is how the drive-by-wire gas pedal is hinged on the bottom. I know this gave me fits for the first few days. Plus, the clutch pedal is just in a higher position than I was accustomed to with my other manuals.

My solution was to drive the car for quite awhile without any other interior noise (i.e. the radio) so I could hear the engine revs and the clutch engaging. After doing this for quite sometime, now I have correlated the sound, feel, and tach numbers to shift crisply and smoothly.

So, maybe driving around without the radio on would help?

I'll admit, like you, I've driven manuals all my life and this particular 6MT made me look like a novice.
Old 02-24-2004, 07:54 AM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post