Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

55w HID system

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2012, 01:32 PM
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
55w HID system

I found a thread previously about someone swapping a 55w HID kit to replace their factory HID system. I can't seem to find it now (been searching for a minute). so here I am...

My question is, the D2S/D2R 55w Kit from hidextra would work with the factory system, but what needs to be done? I'm still kinda new to HID lighting technology and a couple friends use DDM products (but keep in mind these were on cars that were not originally equipped with HID lights).

My driver's side headlight recently started flickering after about 10 minutes of driving with the headlights on, and I've determined it's not the bulb (I swapped a spare set of HID bulbs in place) and have determined its either the ballast igniter or both. I thought I might as well upgrade to a 55w system if i've got to change the ballast and igniters.

Have you guys swapped a 55w system in place of a 35w on a UA6 or UA7? I really don't feel like spending $400 on a new ballast and igniter from Acura.
Old 07-22-2012, 07:06 PM
9th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bump. I need help with this installation also. Can anyone point me in the right direction on replacing the OEM ballast with a 55w. Im new to modding my TL.
Old 07-23-2012, 08:13 PM
Racer

Received 122 Likes on 75 Posts
2 oem wires needs to be cut to connect to the aftermarket ballast power input. Beside that it's the same as oem. If you don't want to mess around, leave the oem ballasts where they are you won't have to block that hole to avoid water/humidity problem. Also, it's a good idea to change the lens for clear ones Good light output gain there...
The following 2 users liked this post by DomGSR-T:
pitoobi (07-03-2023), solidsnakeonaplane (07-23-2012)
Old 07-23-2012, 09:27 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 1,692 Likes on 1,307 Posts