Stupid NY Potholes and my RLX

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2015, 10:28 AM
Instructor

Received 19 Likes on 8 Posts
Stupid NY Potholes and my RLX

I left work late, around 10pm on Monday. I only live around 4-5 miles from work so I figured I'd be home in less than 10 minutes. The road is pretty terrible, but I've been driving it every day for 4 years. I know when to go from left to right lanes, when to slow up..

I swerved a little too late and hit a huge pothole. TPMS instantly flashed and showed '0' tire pressure for my RF tire. (To make this even worse, this was the same road/fairly same spot that destroyed my '09 TL's RF Tire 4 years ago) I pull into a gas station which is a few seconds away. Try to use the tire compressor (woo no spare) but the air was coming back out as fast as I put it in. I call for a tow, truck gets there around 11:30pm and I get it towed back to my house.

I pull the tire off with my dad the next morning and make plans to goto the dealer. I have the tire warranty so it shouldn't be a big deal. Once we pull the tire off, we see the rim has a nice 8" crack down the middle and has a nice bend to it.

I call my dealer back who tells me I have to get the car towed to them for the inspector from the tire/rim warranty to inspect it and put the claim through. My state farm insurance covers towing up to 10 miles away. Luckily for me my dealer is 11 miles. I had to wind up paying $2.50 over the phone before they'd send the tow.

Dealer calls me up later that night they got approval for the replacement of rim and tire, but now they found the RR rim was bent too...and the tire/rim warranty doesnt cover strictly rim damage (has to be a combo of rim/tire, or just tire). They wont know if the bend is strictly cosmetic until the RF rim/tire come in and they can drive it.

BUT...they gave me a 2015 TLX v6 Tech loaner, and I've been having some fun with it, still trying to get adjusted to the push button gear buttons, but its kinda growing on me.