CMBS behavior

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2018, 11:53 AM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CMBS behavior

Hi,

I am new to RDX and it’s CMBS system, I am wondering what would be the normal behavior of Acura’s CMBS system. I basically have the CMBS on all the time, but I don’t understand how this system operates and under what condition it kicks in. I sometimes got the orange break warning sign on the multi display, but pretty rare, I would think the system would kick in more often. I am just wondering if the CMBS system in my car behaves normally and I can count on it. Thx!
Old 08-09-2018, 01:05 PM
MTD
Racer

Received 111 Likes on 59 Posts
What distance do you have it set at? I find that at the shortest distance, it only intervenes if there is an object right in front for example.
Old 08-09-2018, 03:05 PM
Cruisin'

Originally Posted by MTD
What distance do you have it set at? I find that at the shortest distance, it only intervenes if there is an object right in front for example.
I have the distance set at normal. I will try set it to long to see what will happen.
Old 08-09-2018, 05:35 PM
Cruisin'

I set the distance to long and the system did kick in a lot more often.

So the CMBS may not be helpful for local driving when set to normal or short distance since you are already very close to other vehicle when the system gives out warning or starts to apply breaking, maybe it makes sense for highway driving. I set the distance back to normal since I mostly drive local and don’t want to get warning too often.
Old 08-09-2018, 10:47 PM
Registered TL Owner

Received 95 Likes on 62 Posts
You do know that CMBS is like a last minute “I’m going to try and save you from killing yourself” type of system, right? It only kicks in if the system detects that you are going to get into a collision if it doesn’t intervene.