Anyone with experience towing 4000+ lbs travel trailer?

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2019, 08:33 PM
Intermediate

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts
Anyone with experience towing 4000+ lbs travel trailer?

I’ve been using my 2015 MDX with ATF cooler to tow our 22ft, 3100 lb hybrid travel trailer (3500 with all the camping gear). I would say that it does quite well! No issues at all to date.

I’m considering buying a new trailer with a dry weight of 4400 lbs. That will be near the limit of the MDX once loaded carefully with gear.

I have 8 years of experience towing campers. I used to tow the previously mentioned travel trailer with two different Town and Country minivans. I know we were slightly over the limit for the vehicle and this is NOT a post to endorse towing heavier than recommended trailers. Having said that, I can honestly attest to the fact that as long as I was driving responsibility (slowing down, proper WDH setup, monitoring transmission temp, changing fluids pro-actively) the T&C’s performed incredibly well with the load. Never had any drivetrain issues with either vehicle.

I’m not looking for lectures on the dangers of driving near the limit of a vehicles ratings. But I am interested in hearing from anyone with experience pulling a large camper with the MDX that was at least over 4000 lbs.
Old 05-20-2019, 10:49 PM
Instructor

Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts