MrOtocinclus' Springs Replacement Journal

Old 07-01-2011, 10:18 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 215 Likes on 169 Posts
MrOtocinclus' Springs Replacement Journal

With the lease for my 2009 coming up, it's time to prepare for putting the stock springs back on the car. This thread will be a journal of that process.

My DIY history consists of a few oil changes, a transmission fluid change, and a brake pad replacement. In other words, I am a beginner when it comes to working on cars, and I would like to use this thread to reinforce what I learn, catalog my experience, and receive feedback from other users on the forum. Please feel free to chime in at any time!
Old 07-01-2011, 10:23 PM
Three Wheelin'

The first step I took was to go to www.helminc.com to download the relevant service manual pages to do the job. For $10, one can access the Honda/Acura ServiceExpress subscription, which includes access to various documents for various models of Honda/Acura cars. I downloaded the PDFs for front and rear damper removal and installation, and PDFs for front and rear spring disassembly and reassembly. I also downloaded other PDFs that I thought might be useful, such as how to clear your personal settings from the navigation system. I'll need that before turning in the vehicle at lease end.

Last edited by MrOtocinclus; 07-01-2011 at 10:25 PM.
Old 07-01-2011, 10:26 PM
SeeYou2Crew #2

Received 825 Likes on 636 Posts
good luck sir, can't wait to see your work

question: assuming you are going to need a spring compressor, are you gonna rent one from an auto store?
Old 07-01-2011, 11:03 PM
Three Wheelin'

At the current stage of the project, I have studied the PDFs for damper removal and compiled a list of parts which I will need to procure. According to the manual, there are various nuts and bolts that need to be replaced when removing and replacing a damper. I plan to acquire these parts through the Honda eStore, where I get 20% off through my dealer.

Specifically, the parts are: