Wheels/Tires for DUMMIES!

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2009, 06:00 PM
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wheels/Tires for DUMMIES!

Hey guys! Need a little help from some ppl willing to excuse my very limited (to none) knowledge of this subject.... (if you can't contribute, no need to reply)

I have a 2003 3.2TL Type-S Agean Blue Pearl....

I am about to buy some new tires and and I think this is a great opportunity to buy rims. I am in college and work so my budget is limited so I have chosen to buy them from...

Dont laugh at me please...Lol (SEARS). I have a lil credit with them which will ease the blow from my wallet! Anyways, this is the situation: I don't plan on modifying my car in ANY way in the near future bc 1) I dont have the money to put into it, 2) I dont know ANYTHING about car mods and 3) Im still learning about car mods...

With that being said, I have been looking at the rims on the website...

(http://www.sears.com/shc/s/s_10153_1...+Wheels_Chrome)

and reading what you guys write on here for a lil over a month now when I get spare time! I have picked up on some things and others still confuse me!

The Point:

[IMG][/IMG]THESE are my favorite... 18 x 8.5, +20mm offset

Before you rip me a new one, YES I have read what you all write about such a low offest (especially since I dont plan to make ANY mods to the car ANYTIME soon) but...

From what I understand, (and I could be WAY off) the offset is how far out the tire and wheel stick out from the actual car???

With that being said, I dont mind it sticking out a bit, but I do not want half of the wheel out from the car...

Below are a couple of pics that I have gathered from this site of generally what I kinda want my car to look like with the rims on it....

[IMG][/IMG]
[IMG][/IMG]
[IMG][/IMG]

PLEASE offer me some advice...and if your bored, u can look on SEARS website and tell me which rims I have the option of getting...(really appreciated)