Springs or coilovers?

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2008, 12:34 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Springs or coilovers?

Alright well i'm kinda new to azine and this is my first thread but i was wondering if there was any difference between the 2 in comfort? i know coilovers are adjustable but i'm looking to lower my car, yet keep the smooth ride of stock. you guys have any suggestions as to which one i should go for and which brands? thanks
Old 12-25-2008, 12:38 AM
Your Friendly Canadian

Received 1,485 Likes on 1,049 Posts
if you're looking for only a drop, I say go with springs. I'm looking at the two myself, and coils are MUCH more expensive. the adjustability is great, but i'm willing to risk a few inches for ride comfort.
Old 12-25-2008, 01:49 AM
spaz

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
please search
this has been covered multiple times.

btw want to show off that front grill of yours?
Old 12-25-2008, 07:27 AM
Three Wheelin'

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Remember that if you get lowering springs only that you'll still be using the "long" stock shocks. To do it right, get shocks to match or coilovers.
Old 12-25-2008, 11:43 AM
Drifting

Received 22 Likes on 11 Posts
Coilovers are the way to go, the Tein SS are supposed to be pretty close to a stock ride. If you're not a complete pansy though go with KSport, they are a lot firmer but the car is less likely to bottom out. Not to say I haven't had my car bottom out, but it's been like one or two times in the 4 months I've had them on the car.
Old 12-25-2008, 01:53 PM

putting on my k-sports today

k-sport is better coilover for the $ vs. the Tein ss, i have both...i am way happier with the build quality of the k-sports compared to the steel tein ss'

the tein ss dampenming adjuster is weak, and provides minimal feedback when adjusting.

the steel shock body on the tein ss rust's and the green powdercoating flakes off, the welds suck on the tein ss too.