Transmission Fluid Change Procedure - Clarifications (DIY link bad)

Old 09-15-2017, 04:21 PM
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Transmission Fluid Change Procedure - Clarifications (DIY link bad)

Hi everyone-

As the title says, I am going to be doing a transmission fluid change. My transmission was swapped out at about 100k miles ago and I haven't had any real problems with stuttering or jerking. I attribute that to driving in the select-shift mode 100% of the time (except reverse, obviously). The DIY link takes me to a weird forum post with the correct title but the links on the 2nd reply are weird. I'll be taking pictures while I'm doing it and thought I could maybe make the new DIY thread. Before doing that, I wanted to check my step-by-step procedure as this is my first attempt at this.

The following equipment is needed:
  • 24 mm crush washer for the fill plug(?).
  • 18mm crush washer for the drain plug.
  • 17mm socket for the drain and fill plug.
  • 3 qt of Honda DW-1 if doing a 1x3 Drain and Fill (D&F), up to 9qt if doing a full 3x3 D&F.
  • Pan to catch fluid.
  • Transmission fluid filter (I'm not sure about the transmission fluid filters, I haven't seen anything about them on the various posts except that they might need changing)
Procedure is as follows:
1. Use 17mm Socket to remove the ATF fill plug. This could be made more difficult if you have the Jet Kit installed from the recall.
2. Place pan under drain plug.
3. Use same 17mm socket to remove drain plug. (Is this where everyone says the black sludge accumulates?)
4. Once fluid is drained, attach new 18mm crush washer to the drain hole.
5. Using 17mm socket, tighten drain plug to 29 ft/lbs of torque.
6. Pour 3qt of DW-1 into the full plug. (Another slower, but perhaps easier way if having difficulties with fill plug is through the dip stick hole)
7. Attach 24mm crush washer to the fill hole
8. Using 17mm socket tighten fill plug bolt on top of the crush washer to a torque of 29 ft/lb