TL-S or M3 (Last Gen)

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2002, 02:59 PM
Black is a ***** to Clean

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
TL-S or M3 (Last Gen)

Hi,

In a month I'm planning to get my first car. I'm fortunate to have my parents buying it. I've been researching for the past 4 months on the car I really want to get and will be practical. Cars originally ranged from Jeeps, to Mustangs, to S2000s! I've pretty much narrowed it to a new 02/03 TL-S or a 98/99 BMW M3. Both are considered "sport sedans" in my eyes and that is what I'm looking for.

I could get the TL-S for about 29k in DC area (see other thread about that!) or a M3 in pretty good condition for under 28k. Now I know you are all gonna want to know about me to help determine the choice. I'm gonna go out and say that I'm a highschool student but please spare me the talk about responsibilities and how I should NOT have either car. I've been through that with my parents and many..MANY message boards.

Both cars are practical for my daily life as a HS student and still look good and drive fast My dad is being a little bit of a weirdo about a new car (who could blame him?) and originally wants me to get a used one for under 30k. Obviously the M3 is still a great choice, but we all know that M3s are much more expensive to maintain and I bet insurance is a b!tch. Again, try to imagine which would be better for highschool in both practicality and "coolness" And not just a parent's view! Let me know your comments on both so I can finally make a good decision. Thanks!

-David
Old 05-18-2002, 03:11 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i'm not sparing u anything i'm 20 gonna be 21 yrs old and my first car was a 1988 white ford taurus with a custom sound system, no a/c, things breaking all the time and was in the shop , every other day. I think u should go for used and old just so u can appreciate your first new NICE car like ours more.
Old 05-18-2002, 03:22 PM
Pro