Tie rod end broken

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2008, 07:35 PM
I need 2 more gears

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Tie rod end broken

Tonight I installed a spark plug non-fouler on my cat and while I was under there I check out the suspension components to make sure everything was tight. My car has been a little floaty again, well it has been for a while now. It got better when I chnaged the front shocks and lower ball joints, but it's still out of alignment and steering isn't right. I checked the tie rod ends and the driver side one is fine. The passenger side one though had more than play in it. I was able to easily rotate it side to side. I'm pretty damn sure it's completely broken. It wiggled a little bit up and down, but side to side twisting was turning about an inch each way. My question is this: Is it dangerous to drive the car right now and does someone have a DIY on changing the tie rod end. I've never done one before, but it looks easy. Do I have to take off the entire brake assembly and/or more to get to it and do I need to support anything while I remove it?
Old 06-16-2008, 07:52 PM
I need 2 more gears

well I found a DIY on line and it looks very easy. What's the easiest way to grease the boots and what kind of grease would you guys recommend?
Old 06-16-2008, 08:20 PM
Team Owner

Received 1,137 Likes on 1,067 Posts
why would you grease the boots? If there is play-- you need to replace the unit with its new grease and boot all ready to go.
Expect the other side of the car to be worn as well.
Measure the distance from bolt center to the adjuster lock nut, set the new one close- so you can drive to get alignment

A jackstand under the frame is a good idea when working with your head or body in the fender or under the car
A Big hammer and a tie rod tool- pickle fork- or press type removal tool- not sure what 99 has
there must be a ziner made diy if you check
Old 06-16-2008, 08:49 PM
I need 2 more gears