Shifting to Reverse and General Transmission Question

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2007, 09:38 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shifting to Reverse and General Transmission Question

Hello all

I have two questions concerning the 2000 Acura TL (NON-S-TYPE) that I just recently purchased with 48,000 miles. I've only had the car for about 3 weeks now and have put about 700 miles on it but already I'm having some doubts about my purchase.

First Question: I live in Colorado and we've had some exceptionally cold weather the past few weeks. When I start my car up after having sit for more than 8+ hours (cold starting it) the RPMs settle anywhere between 1800 and 2000. I usually let the car warm up for a while and then shift it back to reverse but it seems like even after waiting till the RPMS are around 1,100 or 1,000 the transmission still jerks when I switch to reverse. I'm no expert but I don't think this is normal, has anyone else had this issue / have comments / advice? I should also note that it is only on the cold start that the RPMs are exceptionally high - all subsequent starts settle at more like 700 rpms and don't jerk the transmission when I shift gears.

Second Question: After starting my car (and after a 2-3 minute warm-up) the car jerks a little bit when switching gears. I think it's mainly between gear 1 and 2 or perhaps 2 and 3. The exit from my neighborhood forces me to always accelerate up to 40mph and it's right around 20mph that my transmission jerks slightly. I believe the problem mainly occurs for a little bit after starting the car but still periodically occurs when driving in the city. It should also be noted that the jerking occurs during both bitterly cold weather and the warmer days we've had of 40 degrees F.