Paint Hardener/Protectant Does Work!

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2001, 12:26 PM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Paint Hardener/Protectant Does Work!

I got my TL about 3months ago, and from the advice of a friend of mine who works at a Chevy dealership put on the Paint protectant they sell.(gave it to me for free)
It supposedly has acrylic which bonds with the paint to harden it and make it chip/scratch resistant and has teflon to help make cleaning easier.
He said it chemically bonds to the paint and works great. I was a little skeptical but tried it cause he said he used it too & it works.

Well while this is not a really long-term test, I think it works great.
I've been driving for 3 months with about 3450 miles(80% hwy miles) and have had quite a few pebbles get kick up at my car I still haven't had any chips in the paint. I've got a small chip in my windshield, but that was not protected with the stuff.
On top of the good results just today I had a rock, not a pebble but an actual rock get kicked up by a semi. From my quick glance at it as it was heading for my hood, it look around 1/2in-1inch in diameter.
I checked my hood when I got to work this morning and found a small ding where the rock hit. Not Very noticeable, but if you look at the hood from a few ft or closeer u can def see it.
Surprisingly though, the paint is still flawless.
This stuff really works.

Just a long-winded update for those interested in this product.
Old 10-09-2001, 12:33 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 1,760 Likes on 1,046 Posts
Question

Where would "regular" folk who don't have dealer connections get it from??
Old 10-09-2001, 01:23 PM
Racer

You can do a search online for paint protectants, it's made by several different companies. Just be sure it has acrylic in it.
I applied two coats of the stuff, and my friend said to "refresh" it by applying 1 more coat a year.