newbie question: how to properly jack up our car

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2007, 03:17 PM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
newbie question: how to properly jack up our car

okay, so i have an embarrassing question, maybe so simple and trivial that's why no one ever asked.

so how do you properly jack up our car. i read the user's manual about the jack point, and i thought that i have properly located them (especially when their's a nice arrow pointing to it from the underside of the body). i have attached the picture with what i think is the jack point circled... but it doesn't feel right, because (maybe you can already tell from the picture) it's slightly bent already from my trial attempt.

is that the correct jack point?

now an even more embarrassing question. once i jack the car up, how do i place the jack stand where the jack is (since the jack is now in the way)?

i am just super retarded... so please help. i'd rather admit my ignorance than doing anything stupid that will damage my car (which i may already have), or even worse, critically injure myself.
Old 08-17-2007, 03:24 PM
Instructor

okay... the picture that I linked didn't show up. i'll try it again shortly.
Old 08-17-2007, 03:33 PM
Instructor

turns out the reason why the picture didn't show up is because i didn't use the direct link to the image.
Old 08-17-2007, 03:42 PM
Team Owner

Received 1,137 Likes on 1,067 Posts
In order to get the car high enough to get a jackstand under the real frame rail which is in about a foot from the edge-you need a few blocks of wood to make the jack start from higher ground, it will just clear the tire off the ground otherwise- as you may have already learned

A good safety, is a block of wood or similar wedged against the rear of the tire opposite side and end of the car- working right front- place block left rear- keeps the car from rolling off the jack- now thats embarressing- but less than the Paramedics having to scrape you out from under the car