Insurance carrier says 20% increase is nationwide

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2002, 04:24 PM
Having Fun?

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Insurance carrier says 20% increase is nationwide

So I got my insurance renewal package in the mail, and the 6-month premium increased from $871.11 to $1087.34 :wow:

Naturally I called them, USAA, to find out why. I have been an insured driver through USAA since 1997 with no tickets, no accidents, no fees, no claims, nothing.

The answer I got was that the 'symbol' rating for the 2002 Acura 3.2 TL Type S in specific has increased from 16 to 17 causing the increased premium. I am not convinced this is what it seems to be. I tried for the better part of an hour to try and drill out of her why it increased from 16 to 17, and why the car would depreciate 30% but insurance would increase 20%.

She said that number is figured out by a countrywide organization (ISO), and they use it in their calculations. She could not tell me specifically why it increased, just a bunch of common sense that could apply to any car in any situation garaged in any zip code.

So my next step was to contact ISO, they flat out deny my request for information blaming my carrier that, "... it is their job to provide you with such information..."

I asked the devils' advocate question to USAA, that am I being singled out or will every single other owner of this vehicle have a 20% premium increase nation wide? She replied, "Yes, everyone with this same model car"

So I turn this over to you guys (and gals). Has anyone renewed an insurance package since May of this year (when ISO published its last ratings doc)? And has your insurance gone up 20%?

Also would it be possible for anyone to check with their carriers to see what 'symbol' their car is rated. This is a scale 1 to 27; carriers should know what you are talking about.