Engine Statistics Question

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2003, 12:49 PM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine Statistics Question

The TL-S is the first car I've ever owned where I'm actually interested in the numbers. The problem is, I don't know what the numbers really mean, and what they mean in a practical sense. Maybe you folks can enlighten me somewhat. I'm at Edmunds.com just doing some reading on specifications, and the numbers that interest me are the following:

260hp @ 6100 rpm
232 ft-lbs. @ 3500 rpm

What is it that I can glean from the above info? I am a total car enthusiast newbie, and about the only thing I know about my car is that it has 260hp. Other than that, I have no idea how to read the numbers, or know what they mean on the road (or in theory, even).

Compare the above data for the TL-S to the Lexus GS300:

220hp @ 5800 rpm
220 ft-lbs @ 3800 rpm

I'd appreciate any kind of lesson on such statistics. Thanks!

Danny
Old 01-13-2003, 01:45 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 1,760 Likes on 1,046 Posts
Well, to learn about HP or Torque and how they apply... check out these links:

http://www.howstuffworks.com/horsepower1.htm

http://www.howstuffworks.com/fpte3.htm

That is a great site.. so those links should help.

Another thing you will learn is that paper stats don't tell the whole truth. There are a lot of variables when driving that can make your car perform better or worse then what you read. Sure, your car always has 260hp at the engine... but it may perform differently depending on the temperature, humidity, wind, weight in the car, etc.
Old 01-14-2003, 02:55 AM
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
For the most part this is crank horsepower, the power the engine will produce. It's not the wheel horsepower, the power which is measured at the wheels on the road. WHP is usually 15-20% less of the CHP.