does tint really help with heat?

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2002, 10:08 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question does tint really help with heat?

Ok, I know that tint will make my car look cooler, but will it feel cooler? Summer is here and I already noticed dry/cracked leather in my backseat. My car sits outside 24/7 (I'm a college student living in apts). I'm afraid worse will come. I need to know, will tint help my situation? This is the only way I can justify spending 200 on some tint. I can't do it simply for cosmetics.

If your response is yes, tint will keep your car significantly cooler, please help me decide on which brand.

I have read about Llumar polarized tint, and that many are happy with it. Does it have a slight reflectiveness to it? I'm looking for something in that style.

And Quantum, I searched and saw pics of a laguna green (forgot who's) with this tint. It had some nice reflectiveness in it.

Also, should I get mirror tint? It looks nice, but I'd be afraid to get 35% (tx legal limit) because it might be too "mirrorry."

Thanks for reading my lengthy post. I really do need yalls help though!

edit: a side note, i dont have navi so im not worried about the metallic tint
Old 05-22-2002, 10:15 PM
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
yes, tints do help cut down on the heat. I know so because if I roll down the window, my arm burns and if I roll it up, it feels cooler also one of those front windshield shades will help tons too... even more than the tints. I definitely recommend one of them.

as for tints .. I have solargards they seem nice. the fancy tint takes long to dry out with their bubbles tho. I've recently seen a new one called 'formula1' at my installers... they promise no bubbling even out the door :wow: good luck
Old 05-22-2002, 10:28 PM
The New 3 Series Coupe

quantums baby. That shiet cuts lotta heats!!!
Old 05-22-2002, 10:32 PM
Advanced

I'm also considering a more cost effective method using 4 of these