Do-it-yourself service vs Dealer service?

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2002, 04:02 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do-it-yourself service vs Dealer service?

I have a friend who insists that bringing your car into the dealer for regular servicing and checkup is a waste of money. So he does the oil changes, spark plug changes etc, himself regularly.

For me, since I don't feel comfortable messing around with the engine components of my car, I prefer the peace of mind I get when I drop it off at Acura and they take care of it for me.

What are your thoughts on this? Anyone else skip the regular service check-ups in favour of doing it yourself?
Old 10-23-2002, 05:13 PM
Cruisin'

I worked as a powertrain engineer in the automotive industry for about 8 years and there is some good reasoning behind taking your car to the dealer for all its service. If you have all the work done at the dealer you have prove the work has been done and the manufacturer has a record of it also. So if something happens say 6 months or 5000 miles out of warranty you can usually get it covered under warranty. This is the one advantage of this. My sister has an Excursion Diesel and they had some problems right after the warranty period and since all the work was done at the dealer they covered it. But you have to do the leg work yourself by calling the manufacturer if the dealer is unwilling to do it for you.

I used to do the work myself but since I bought a new car I am going to let the dealer do it now. Plus the last thing I want to do is turn wrenches onmy new car after workng on my race car.
Old 10-23-2002, 05:26 PM
Instructor

personally, i think goin to the dealer is a waste of money. i jus did my 30 K maintainence job on my TL myself. total cost = $80 as opposed to the $450 that rallye acura was gonna charge me. a large chunk of the cost from the dealers is labor, if ur willing to do it urself then go for it.
Old 10-23-2002, 06:30 PM
O.G.

Received 1 Like on 1 Post