your opinion on which wheel

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2013, 09:05 AM
10th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Talking your opinion on which wheel

Hello everybody

I am new to AZ and trying to "edumacate" myself prior to changing wheels on my 06 RL. Can you advise me on this endeavor and point out important considerations I might be overlooking of these 3 options? then I'll probably take the rims to be chromed.

1. 7-spoke BMW wheel 18 x 8 with 43 offset
2. 7-spoke BMW wheel 18 x 9 with 55 offset
3. remanufactured TL wheels 18 x 8 with 55 offset

I prefer the styling of this 7-spoke BMW wheel the most (5x120 pattern), however the fitment is not exact. Additionally, I don't want to order one of each BMW wheel just to see if they fit or not. What do you think about my options?

- won't the 43 mm offset require spacers? I read that somebody ran a 19 dia 42 offset MDX rim and still needed 6 mm spacers
- how much spacer can you use before you have to change out the lugs also?
- will the 9 inch width on 55 offset push back into the car?

- what do you guys think about quality of remanufactured rims vs aftermarket options?

mahalo
-Rick
Old 08-21-2013, 09:01 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 244 Likes on 139 Posts
as stated many times you cannot go off just size and offset. you have to account for spoke design for proper clearance
The following users liked this post:
Big Big Rick (08-24-2013)
Old 08-21-2013, 10:45 PM
Drifting

Received 591 Likes on 427 Posts
Originally Posted by Carbon Legend
as stated many times you cannot go off just size and offset. you have to account for spoke design for proper clearance
^^^Werd.

Also, I think every set of BMW wheels we've seen on 2G RL's have required spacers to clear the calipers. The TL wheels will also require spacers to clear though. Why not just find a proper set of wheels that actually fit the car?
Big Big Rick (08-24-2013)
Old 08-22-2013, 11:54 AM
Suzuka Master

Received 1,038 Likes on 844 Posts
sweet another wheel thread