Navigation Calibration Miscue

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2006, 09:23 AM
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Navigation Calibration Miscue

Tried searching....

2005 RL

On Monday afternoon (7/10) after getting my car back from a parking garage in Manhattan my Nav System calibration was off by like half a block. Everywhere I went in town said I was not on a digitized road. I tried turning the car off, stopping and rebooting the DVD with no help. I am not good at traveling around the city and I needed the Nav system. After retreiving the car again later in the evening it had the same problem all the way back home to NJ. The next morning all is well, no problems.

Lucky I had my wife in the car with a map.

Anybody know what this is or how I can correct it if it happens again?

Thanks,

Don
Old 07-12-2006, 11:02 AM
Instructor

I have the same problem every time I exit a parking garage. The navi is WAY off, showing me driving across Lake Michigan. It takes 8 to 10 minutes of driving (highway speeds) for the the navi to reset to my ACTUAL location. Re-starting the car has no effect. The Acura dealer claims this is "normal", but I don't understand why it wouldn't reset itself after you re-start the car. I mean, in normal use, if you diverge from the navigation route, it notices you missed a turn within five seconds. Why should it take 8-10 minutes for it to correct itself after coming out of a parking garage, even with re-starting the car?

Randy
Old 07-12-2006, 12:25 PM
'06 RL

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
This is normal behavior for a nav system.

Nav systems rely not just on GPS data but on steering input and mileage. When you lose GPS signal (which can happen indoors, as in a garage, or if you're driving in a city where tall buildings block LOS to the equator-based satellites) the system defaults to trying to keep track of your location by steering input and by distance.