Gauging interest in a UnderDrive Pulley for the RL

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2006, 05:48 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Talking Gauging interest in a UnderDrive Pulley for the RL

Hi guys as some of you know I work in the aftermarket auto industry and thus have access to manufacturers who we use to make performance parts.

I noticed that with the RL there is no real parts available to us. However this can change. I have been speaking to one of the companies we use about manufacturing a underdrive pulley.

A lightweight crankshaft pulley as most of you are aware off can make a big difference in performance of the car. As we all know the RL is not exactly a fast car so any extra power is welcome. The original pulley is made out of steel and is quite heavy, but using a billet aluminum pulley you can free up power due to less rotational loss.

The TL guys seem to love them on there cars and I would estimate a 15hp gain for our RL's.

Here is a dyno with a pulley on a CL v-6 (borrowed from the tl forums)-

The pulley will be CNC-machined from lightweight 6061-T6 aluminum billet. Premium 6061-T6 aluminum billet ensures the consistency of the material's strength and balance. Tolerances are held to within .001", and numerous machining steps will be used to ensure the lightest and strongest possible design. Pulley will also be anodized (most likely I think black to give a oem look). Price estimate on this pulley will be $150-$195 depending on how many members buy.

Right now I'd just like to get a list of people who would be interested in buying a pulley.

Feel free to ask any questions that you may have. Thanks.

1. Touge
etc
Old 10-03-2006, 05:54 PM
The Doctor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
1. Touge
2. UW RL

how about some cold air intake and exhaust systems? Hook us up, man!
Old 10-03-2006, 06:25 PM
Burning Brakes