How long before waxing a new RDX?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2012, 09:10 AM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How long before waxing a new RDX?

Hi All,

I am the new proud owner of a 2013 RDX! Picked it up last night and while finishing up I asked about how long before I should have it detailed and waxed. The salesperson told me I should wait an entire year which seemed very long to me. I usually like to have a car full detailed (clayed, etc) as soon as possible to get any factory metal dust off the paint.
Interested to hear your thoughts and thanks in advance
Old 06-05-2012, 09:56 AM
Instructor

Received 24 Likes on 19 Posts
Congratulations on your new RDX.

I am by no means an expert, but I have already clayed and waxed mine and there are no ill effects that I can see. I don't think the clay was necessary as it took virtually nothing off. Acura must do a good job of protecting their cars.

I am of the belief that you need that extra layer of protection immediately. If you think of it this way, the protection that the dealer tries to sell you before you drive off the lot is little more than glorified wax, so I really don't think there is any harm. Gentle with wash, lots of lube for clay, and a good wax. I dont think I would polish anything at this point, but again, I am no expert.
Old 06-05-2012, 10:19 AM
Instructor

Received 31 Likes on 26 Posts
I agree with mike that you should not wait to wax the car. The paint is baked at the factory so it is fully cured. My car had wax on it when I got it (beaded really good when I first washed it) but not sure if the factory or the dealer applied it. I put a second coat of carnuba on prior to installing the splash guards. I can see a slight residue line on the top in the outline of the plastic shipping film so I may clay those. I prefer Zaino products but they are actually a polish so will wait a year or so to convert.