CL-S has more balls than I do? (long)

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2005, 10:11 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy CL-S has more balls than I do? (long)

I don't know if it's because I've been driving a turbodiesel piece of shit VW Golf for 2 years prior to the CL-S. Or because I had a rough accident with my Z28 2 years ago.

But I find myself scared to push this car. I mean I feel bad and guilty of letting her rip to 7K rpm. I feel bad about shifting 2nd semi-hard and hearing the tires go nuts. I also feel bad about finding out that I can also get the tires to chirp shifting 3rd. And my car is bone stock.

I don't know why... but I keep thinking that this is not a car that I should drive like this. I've had a 2000 Civic, a modded 88 CRX Si (171whp Mustang dyno - all motor) and a 98 Z28... and drove the snot out of each and one of them as if they were freshly stolen a few minutes before. I don't know how many people have powershifted their cars at the viciousness and frequency that I used to do it. Also, I must have at least a few hundred 1/4 mile passes under my belt with the Civic/CRX/Z28. Yet for some reason with the CL-S, I always start feeling guilty about pushing it hard - and the way I drive it is nothing compared to how I drove my other cars.

Maybe it's because it's very new (19K miles). Maybe it's because of little things that I am noticing - such as engine shutdown vibrations and various rattles developping. Maybe it's because my shift knob has become loose and can be turned left/right easily (makes me wonder, "am I really shifting that hard?") Or maybe because I've been driving a 75hp turbodiesel for the past 2 years and my driving habits have essentially become < 3K rpm, and barely ever exeeding the speed limit.