Under the Hood Upgrades - HELP

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2004, 01:05 PM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Under the Hood Upgrades - HELP

Bare with me folks, I'm a rookie to all this.

I want to add some stuff under my hood. I was thinking about going with headers and cold air intake. I got a few questions though.

Will this make a noticeable difference in the speed?
Will it make my gas mileage better or worse?
How much will it cost and is it worth the money?
Can someone recommend some brands that I should go with?
And finally, will it void my warranty?
Old 05-26-2004, 01:13 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 1,760 Likes on 1,046 Posts
Re: Under the Hood Upgrades - HELP

Originally posted by ancz9
Bare with me folks, I'm a rookie to all this.

I want to add some stuff under my hood. I was thinking about going with headers and cold air intake. I got a few questions though.

Will this make a noticeable difference in the speed?
Will it make my gas mileage better or worse?
How much will it cost and is it worth the money?
Can someone recommend some brands that I should go with?
And finally, will it void my warranty?
In order

1) Yes. You'll definitely feel a difference with headers and the intake, especially over 4500rpms

2) Technically gas mileage will improve since airflow will improve, however, if you drive faster it will go down

3) I believe both mods are worth the money. We have pretty good prices, so check our site ( www.c-c-c.net ) for current pricing.

4) Headers, I'd go with Comptech or OBX, although many people prefer the Comptech due to their high quality. Intake would be either AEM or Injen. You could also buy a Comptech Icebox which gives slightly more gains then the other two.. but is also more money.

5) Warranty will not be voided unless that particular mod caused the problem. Check out the FAQ page on the site I linked above for some good reading.

Welcome aboard and have fun modding
Old 05-26-2004, 01:14 PM
Lone Wolf