Sequential Sportshift Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2001, 10:10 AM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sequential Sportshift Question

I am struggling with purchasing a SS 2001 cl-s--I think the 6 speed should be here within a year or so...maybe sooner...MAYBE.....my question about the SS---is there any way to make it so it is in effect a true manual WITHOUT a clutch? Meaning..the car I test drove you were unable to shift manually from 1st to second gear manually...it seemed to do it on its own can you mod this to fix that problem?
Also are the downshifts herky/jerky or smooth?
Can you redline the car while manually shifting..is the 260 hp actually utilized?
I can deal with a SS if it behaves like a manual without the clutch...just wondering...o also...

sorry about all the questions...I am new to the scene

Dave
Old 12-03-2001, 10:13 AM
Someday pigs WILL fly!

Downshifts are smooth and computer controlled so you can't over-rev on downshift (unlike manual - you should talk to all the guys who are overeving their RSX's). You can control first to second shift by using D1 to D2 to D3 etc. It winds out really quick though. You WILL hit the rev limiter.
Old 12-03-2001, 10:16 AM
Moderator Alumnus

Re: Sequential Sportshift Question

Originally posted by DaveBlkCL-S
I am struggling with purchasing a SS 2001 cl-s--I think the 6 speed should be here within a year or so...maybe sooner...MAYBE.....my question about the SS---is there any way to make it so it is in effect a true manual WITHOUT a clutch? Meaning..the car I test drove you were unable to shift manually from 1st to second gear manually...it seemed to do it on its own can you mod this to fix that problem?
Also are the downshifts herky/jerky or smooth?
Can you redline the car while manually shifting..is the 260 hp actually utilized?
I can deal with a SS if it behaves like a manual without the clutch...just wondering...o also...

sorry about all the questions...I am new to the scene

Dave