MM-I and MM-II Secret Revealed!

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2003, 01:30 PM
Happy CL-S Pilot

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
MM-I and MM-II Secret Revealed!

Yeah.. I am a reverse engineer so I was intrigued by the mystery of the Mystery Mod-I (RES) and the MM-II.

Interesting no...Here you go...

First MM-I, Scalbert did a MM-I clone with no success. Simply, the as stated by syncivic himself enlarging the volume of the center chamber is the not the secret, he added a special attention to the shape of the interior of RES was needed.... hmm, Juker008 mentioned that he learned that the EGR ports have something to do with the RES.

Since I have the Helms Service Manual and decided to do some Research and Reverse Engineering to reveal the secrets of the mystery mods, MM-I and MM-II.

And, I came to conclude the following.

The Concept of the Mystery Mod:
=======================
By blocking or reducing the EGR ports( Exhaust Gas Recirculation, to reduce Nox, nitrous oxide, emission) the engine will use more of fresh air i.e. more O2)

Applications: (MM-I and MM-II)

Application #1 (MM-I) Drawback: Totally blocking the EGR ports or even partially will result in PCM DTC code P0401: insufficient flow of EGR system.

So, how about reducing the port without tripping the EGR DTC code? if successful, you have your FREE HP, and MM-I works!

Now what is the MM-II? It is simply an electrical mod for EGR valve as shown on Page 11-24 in the helm manual. The idea is to close the EGR valve. It is in fact the same concept done electronically.

However,

Application #2 (MM-2) Drawback: Modding the EGR valve may result in PCM DTC code P1498: Bad EGR valve position sensor or even DTC P1491 Failure of EGR system (bad Valve).

So, the MM-2 is to be designed to close the EGR valve more than what the PCM is ordering without tripping DTC P1298.

What do yo think? anyone wants to verify my discoveries?

Old 08-07-2003, 01:46 PM
lover and fighter

Received 32 Likes on 15 Posts