HID protection

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2002, 01:10 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HID protection

Hey guys. Pretty new to the thread here. I know this is a CL forum, but this should work on CL's as well. I've had my '03 TL-S for about a week now, reaching the 600 mile break in mark tommorow. Anyway, a concern I've had was the HID theft I've been constantly hearing about. I am an EMT in NYC and have lights and sirens in my car, that were all professionally installed. I also have an alarm/remote starter. I was at my installer this morning and we were discussing a way to protect the headlights. We were talking about maybe putting some sort of chain around it or a cable, but decided that if someone wanted the lights, it's not too hard to just snip the chain or cable. I have my alarm connected into the siren, so that if the alarm is set off, the 100 watt siren goes off(very loud). We worked something out where he put two pin switches on the corners under the hood so that if the hood is lifted even 1/4" it will set the alarm off. The point being that if a potential theif sticks a crow bar into the hood, as soon as that happens the alarm will go off, which means he'll have 100 watts of siren right in his ear(the speaker is right behind the grill), plus the factory alarm. It won't be a deterent but I hope it will be effective that if someone starts, they won't be able to get too far. What do you guys think? By the way, the name of the Shop is Securely Yours, and it's located on Avenue I and McDonald in brooklyn. If you need a number or contact person, let me know. This guy does unbeleivable work and is very reliable and always backs up his work. I've had two or three cars already done by him and was very pleased each time. We were thinking of maybe putting some sort of LED into the light, but thought it would look cheesy and also it might draw more attention to the lights or might even challenge a potential theif. Again, just curious what the thoughts are w