help: TYPE-S IM vs. unichip

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2007, 07:03 PM
TellinItLikeItIsSince1/06

Received 30 Likes on 21 Posts
help: TYPE-S IM vs. unichip

so the basic background story here is b/c of parents and some other reasons, i have to keep my car until after college. im studying architecture=5year program and im a freshman now. I AM VERY satisfied with my car, but a little more power would be nice. BOTTOM LINE: im planning for the "far" future...like in 2-3yrs...meaning im saving money now...

ok to the point! I have the J32A1 with Comptech Headers and Comptech CAI. I want to stay N/A also, so I'm looking at either a type-s intake manifold OR a unichip. from what ive seen, the unichip is $730, and the intake manifold and the parts required i believe was something like $500ish. if im gonna spend anything around there, those numbers become the same for me (+garage cost of course). unichip = 12.8% increase i believe (my 265hp [H/I] x 12.8%= 299HP), and type-s IM would give the 35hp difference between cl-p/cl-s = 300HP (ROUGHLY! lol)

so which is better? more practical? gives the better results (in reality)? maybe a big $$$ difference im not aware of? etc...what do you guys think?

p.s. ive been reading about them, but no direct comparisons that ive seen...

THANKS A LOT!!
Old 09-14-2007, 08:10 PM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
UHH dude where did you get 300hp that does not make sense at all the Type S IM does nto give you 35 hp if im correct. On top of that I think you have a CL-P so yea I dont know the clp hp but I am pretty sure its lower then 200 whp I would guess if you add those 2 ons maybe around 245whp so around 270 crank HP.
Old 09-14-2007, 08:45 PM
Team Owner

Received 249 Likes on 175 Posts
Based on your math I think the 5 year architecture program is going to take you 7.
Old 09-14-2007, 08:47 PM
Team Owner